Annalisa Crawford Outwits a Maniac

I’m happy to have Annalisa on my website today! We’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I sort of tossed a coin and wrote to Annalisa a year ago through the Vagabondage website because she appeared approachable…plus, I was drawn to the cover of That Sadie Thing.

She’s been a rock in the surging tides of my first-time publication experiences. So…thank you, Annalisa, and now on to the fun part.

You. I. Us. is a collection of vignettes, small scenes which hint at the story beneath.

Annalisa has taken that idea to another level, because she asked 15 bloggers to ask her one question each, creating small insights into her life and writing. Today I asked her how would she survive stranded on a deserted island with a challenging personality.

 

Hi Stacey, wow, you totally win for the most challenging question. You gave me a list of some particularly interesting characters, and I choose to be shipwrecked with Moriarty (if choose is the right word, in this instance!)

I’d like to say I’d be a match for him, that we’d sit around out-smarting each other until help arrived. But actually, I think I’d probably just try to find a waterfall—it’s a deserted island, after all, it’s bound to have one—and lure him to his death.

If that didn’t work, I’d get him to teach me how to play chess (I think he’d be rather good at that), and I’d teach him the lyrics to Bohemian Rhapsody!

images

I think the waterfall did him in, Annalisa, so put your chess pieces away. Thanks for coming over, and congratulations on your new release!

 

You. I. Us.

Publication date: June 10, 2016
Genre: Short Stories (Single Author)

You-I-Us-eB-cov_for-web new

Amazon // Barnes & Noble // Book Depository // Kobo // iBooks // Nook

 

In You. I. Us., Annalisa Crawford captures everyday people during  poignant defining moments in their lives: An artist puts his heart into his latest sketch, an elderly couple endures scrutiny by a fellow diner, an ex-student attempts to make amends with a girl she bullied at school, a teenager holds vigil at his friend’s hospital bedside, long distance lovers promise complete devotion, a broken-hearted widow stares into the sea from the edge of a cliff where her husband died, a grieving son contacts the only person he can rely on in a moment of crisis, a group of middle-aged friends inspire each other to live remarkable lives.

Day after day, we make the same choices. But after reading You. I. Us., you’ll ask yourself, “What if we didn’t?”

 

About the author

head shot new

Annalisa Crawford lives in Cornwall UK, with a good supply of moorland and beaches to keep her inspired. She lives with her husband, two sons, a dog and a cat. Annalisa writes dark contemporary, character-driven stories. She has been winning competitions and publishing short stories in small press journals for many years, and is the author of Cat & The Dreamer and Our Beautiful Child.

Visit her online at: www.annalisacrawford.com

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Advertisements

25 thoughts on “Annalisa Crawford Outwits a Maniac

  1. My island has lots of waterfalls, but it’s not really deserted, so you might not be able to murder Moriarty without a few pesky witnesses! Meanwhile, I’d love a game of chess… wait a minute. Maybe I’m secretly Dr Moriarty!

    Like

  2. Perhaps I’m just tired due to the very late hour, but I was just sure you were talking about Morrissey rather than Moriarty. I thought, “Surely he must know the lyrics to ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’.” Nonetheless, I just bought the Kindle version of Annalisa’s book after reading the summary above. I look forward to reading it!

    Like

  3. I think you could drive Moriarty insane by leaving failed sudoku for him to find.

    (Failed Sudoku of course also being a great name for a band.)

    Like

  4. I love the part about teaching him the lyrics to Bohemian Rhapsody! It’s a timeless piece of music.

    you. i. us. is an amazing collection. It gets your thoughts scattering in all directions, asking ‘what if’ kinds of questions…
    Now I just need to post my review. 🙂
    Congrats again Annalisa!

    Like

  5. I don’t think Moriarty died in the waterfall at all. You only think he died, due to the violent fall, but you never recovered his body. After bandaging his head with banana leaves, he went to hide in a small cove, where he is mathematically calculating the odds of whether he will be able to be strong enough to wreak revenge by crafting a device out of driftwood that can slingshot coconuts at you before he lapses into a six-month coma. Bwah ha ha!

    Like

  6. Actually have written a couple stories in the vein of You.I.Us, and I have not read a book in eons, so I’ll have to give this a read myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s